rempis percussion quartet

dave rempis - reeds
ingebrigt haker flaten - bass
tim daisy - drums
frank rosaly - drums

the rempis percussion quartet is a free-improvising whirlwind that draws inspiration from a shared interest in west african and latin american rhythms, coupled with american funk and free jazz. using these influences, the band creates spontaneous music which nevertheless maintains a focus on ensemble motion and compositional structures. led by saxophonist dave rempis (the engines, triage, rempis/daisy Duo, vandermark five) the band originally formed for a house party in april 2004, and their performances maintain an unabashedly raucous energy based on relentless grooves and unrestrained blowing, tempered with occasional moments of quiet balladry. The band has released four records, including the limited edition “circular logic” (utech records 2005) “rip tear crunch” (482 music 2006) “hunter-gatherers” (482 music – 2007) and “the disappointment of parsley (Not Two – 2009). anton hatwich, the band’s original bass player, was replaced by norwegian phenom ingebrigt håker flaten in the spring of 2009.